Events, Flora and Courses

Public art, lectures, seasonal blooms, family adventures and courses — there is always something happening at VanDusen. See what’s on now and coming up soon.

Events

Festival of Lights 2017

Friday, December 1 - Sunday, January 7 2018

This annual holiday event runs from December 1, 2017 through to January 7, 2018

Learn more>>

Holiday Heights at Bloedel Conservatory

Friday, December 15 - Sunday, January 7 2018

Warm up inside the tropical dome while enjoying the exotic birds, lush gardens and holiday light display produced by MK Illumination. Lots of things to see and do at a family-friendly price!

Learn more>>

Bird Walk

Saturday, December 16 10 am

Take a guided tour through VanDusen and learn about the native bird species that make their home in the garden.

Learn More

Medicine Wheel Ceremony

Sunday, December 17 12:00 pm to 3:00 pm

People from varying backgrounds and spiritual traditions are invited to gather to celebrate the beginning of a new season in a beautiful outdoors setting at VanDusen Garden.

Learn More

Preschool Storytime: Nature’s Stories for Young Children

Monday, January 1 2018

We will resume storytime in 2018. Thanks for your support!

Learn More

New Library Exhibition by Marion-Lea Jamieson

Thursday, January 4 2018 - Tuesday, March 27 2018

Vegetable Kingdom opens Wednesday January 4th in the Yosef Wosk Library and Resource Centre at VanDusen Gardens.  All are invited to the official opening Saturday, January 6th from 2-4 pm.

Learn More

Plant Sale Potluck - Donations Needed!

Thursday, March 1 2018

Do you have healthy plants that have expanded beyond your space, or you want to replace? We’ll take care of them! Donations accepted again starting March 1st, 2018

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Winter

Thursday, December 21 - Tuesday, March 20 2018

The winter Garden features muted colour palettes, stunning silhouettes and a scattering of colour with winter berries and blooms.

Learn More

Spring

Tuesday, March 20 2018 - Wednesday, June 20 2018

In spring the Garden is bursting with cheerful rhododendrons, stunning magnolias, delicate cherry blossoms and bloom-full camellias –  to mention a few…

Summer

Wednesday, June 20 2018 - Thursday, September 20 2018

Summer in the Garden features vibrant colours and fragrant smells for our visitors to enjoy.

Learn More
Courses

Brain and Body Workout for Boomers and Beyond (Winter)

Tuesday, January 9 2018 - Tuesday, March 13 2018 10:30 - 11:30 am

This class, designed by Kinesiologists and Occupational Therapists, is an evidence-based program to improve both physical and brain conditioning.

Learn More

Better Balance Workout for Seniors (Winter)

Wednesday, January 10 2018 - Wednesday, March 14 2018 12:00 - 12:45 pm

This is a gentle class for all levels, focused on balance and mobility for fitness and for preventing falls.

Learn More

Yin Yoga & Meditation (Winter)

Monday, January 15 2018 - Monday, February 26 2018 10:15 - 11:30 am

Yin yoga is a slow-paced style of yoga that focuses on stimulating the connective tissues of the body with the intention of increasing circulation in the joints and improving flexibility.

Learn More

New! Gentle Yoga (Winter)

Wednesday, January 17 2018 - Wednesday, March 14 2018 10:15 - 11:30 am

Start your day with this gentle yoga practice; relieve tension held in hips, spine and shoulders to deeply relax your body.

Learn More

Painting with Watercolour: Winter

Thursday, January 18 2018 - Thursday, February 15 2018 10 am - 12:30 pm

Express the colours of the season through watercolour.

Learn More

New! Drawing Vegetables

Friday, January 19 2018 10 am - 2 pm

This one-day workshop explores how to draw some seasonal vegetables: squash, root veggies, winter greens, and more!

Learn More

New! Essentials of Landscape Design

Wednesday, January 24 2018 - Wednesday, January 31 2018 6:30 - 9 pm

Spring is just around corner, so it’s time to start thinking about garden design.

Learn More