Events, Flora and Courses

Public art, lectures, seasonal blooms, family adventures and courses — there is always something happening at VanDusen. See what’s on now and coming up soon.

Events

Medicine Wheel Ceremony

Sunday, June 18 - Sunday, December 17 12:00 pm to 3:00 pm

People from varying backgrounds and spiritual traditions are invited to gather to celebrate the beginning of a new season in a beautiful outdoors setting at VanDusen Garden.

Learn More

Works by Anna Milton

Friday, June 30 - Wednesday, September 27 during library hours

All are welcome to the Exhibition Opening on Saturday July 8th, 2017, 2:00 – 4:00 pm

Learn More

Vancouver Shade Garden Society Show

Sunday, July 16 - Monday, July 17 10 am - 4 pm

Join the Vancouver Shade Garden Society for their annual show.

Learn More

BC Fuchsia and Begonia Society - Annual Show & Competition

Saturday, July 29 - Sunday, July 30 10 am - 4 pm

Join the BC Fuchsia & Begonia Society for their Annual Show & Competition.

Learn More

Sale of Orchids and Companion Plants

Saturday, August 19 10 am - 4 pm

Presented by the Vancouver Orchid Society

Learn More

Dahlia Show

Saturday, September 2 - Sunday, September 3 12 - 3:30 pm

Join the Vancouver Dahlia Society for their annual show.

Learn More

Early Chrysanthemum Sale

Saturday, September 9 - Sunday, September 10 12 - 4 pm

Presented by the Point Grey Chrysanthemum Association

Learn More
Bloom Calendar

Summer

Tuesday, June 20 - Wednesday, September 20

Summer in the Garden features vibrant colours and fragrant smells for our visitors to enjoy.

Learn More

Fall

Friday, September 22 - Thursday, December 21

Autumn colours are absolutely stunning at the Garden, and there are plenty of blooms still showing.

Learn More

Winter

Thursday, December 21 - Tuesday, March 20 2018

The winter Garden features muted colour palettes, stunning silhouettes and a scattering of colour with winter berries and blooms.

Learn More
Courses

New! Fitness and Yoga Multipasses

Wednesday, March 1 - Sunday, December 31

This new system replaces purchasing entire sessions and allows you to attend whenever your schedule allows, without the risk of missing classes in a series due to illness or holidays.

Learn More

Drought Tolerant Gardening

Wednesday, July 5 6:30 - 9 pm

This class explores how to maintain a beautiful garden under low water conditions.

Learn More

New! Drop-in Plein Air Watercolour

Thursday, July 6 - Thursday, July 27 9:30 am - 12:30 pm

For intermediate students looking to practice their watercolour skills outdoors.

Learn More

Mixology and your Garden

Thursday, July 6 7 - 8:30 pm

With summer just around the corner, what better time to broaden your entertaining toolkit with some botanical cocktails?

Learn More

Cancelled - From Seed to Harvest: Make the Most of your Urban Garden

Saturday, July 8 9:30 am - 12:30 pm

Unfortunately this course has been cancelled due to low enrollment.

Learn More

Eat from your Garden Year-round

Saturday, July 15 9:30 am - 12:30 pm

Learn what to grow and when to sow your winter garden and how to prevent common problems that the winter garden faces.

Learn More

New! Creations from the Apothecaries’ Garden

Wednesday, July 19 6:30 - 9 pm

In this class we will explore a multitude of household products you can create from plants in your garden.

Learn More